Pound Of Flesh – Funky March

Pound Of Flesh - Funky March

So I’m back from London & what a great weekend I had. From Madame Jo-Jo’s with Snowboy & my old buddy Si Cheeba, to dj’ing at a birthday party on Saturday & on to Corrina Greyson’s night spinning a few on the Sunday, the weekend was laden with heavy funk & groovy soul.

This week’s selection is a track that I spun in London and proved to be pretty popular on the dancefloor, so I thought I’d bring it to you this week to show what you missed! As you can see from the label, this cut was released in ’74 and has since been selected on the rather excellent “First Days Of Funk” compilation from a few years ago.

I don’t think I can fully put into words just how awesome this tune is. There’s organ, flute (a must have in all the best funk records), crashing drums and a great horn section. In fact, I’d probably go as far as saying that this is one of my favourite records in my collection. So enough of me blabbering on about it, just click the little play button and listen for yourself…..

About Gary Small

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals. For more info about me, check out my official site at www.garysmall.co.uk including a full bio, pictures, podcasts & more.
This entry was posted in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

