Bobby Shad & The Bad Men – I Want You Back

So this weekend sees Record Store Day 2013. As you know, we here at Gazfunk have been an avid supporter of RSD since it’s inception back in 2007. There will be a number of special events up & down the country and Belfast will be no different!

I will be dj’ing in one of the local record stores – Head, in the city centre on Saturday afternoon between 1 & 3pm before joining up with my buddies in the Garrick Bar later that evening for an all vinyl marathon from 6pm – late. I know that some people don’t really like Record Store Day as they think the public should support their local stores all year round – which of course they should – but if we can convert a few people over to the joys of record stores on RSD, them I’m all for it! Check out the groovy flyer below:

Record Store Day 2013

One other aspect of RSD is that it affords me the opportunity to dig into the crates and pull out some of my hidden gems that never/rarely get played during my sets at mod or funk clubs (especially those cuts which are tucked away on LPs). As you know, we only normally focus on the 45s on Gazfunk but today’s selection breaks with that tradition (don’t worry it’s only a one-off!)

Bobby Shad was a record producer who became known for his work with jazz legends like Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington & Dizzy Gillespie. As well as working with the aforementioned jazz greats, Shad also produced the debut album by the one & only, Janis Joplin. Sometime in the early 70s (I’m not sure exactly when) he cut an LP of his own which featured a 65 piece rock orchestra. This LP featured covers of Instant Karma, Pinball Wizard, Whole Lotta Love and today’s selection – a fantastic version of The Jackson Five’s “I Want You Back”

All it remains for me to say is enjoy the track and if you can’t make it to Belfast to join us on Saturday, please try to get out on RSD to support your local record store – you never know, you might enjoy it!

About Gary Small

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals. For more info about me, check out my official site at www.garysmall.co.uk including a full bio, pictures, podcasts & more.
This entry was posted in Gazfunk DJ Appearances and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

