Eric & The Vikings – Get Off The Streets Y’all

Eric Vikings - Get Off The Streets Y'allLike last week, I have a little bit of info to share with you before I bring you my song choice. I was recently asked to take part in a very interesting music project which featured 100 of the world’s top funk & soul djs digging into their collection for a selection of 10 records brought together as a mix.

So far there have been around 80 djs to take part including old friends of ours like HeavySoulBrutha Dave B, Larry Grogan from Funky16corners and arguably the World’s #1 Funk dj Mr Ian Wright. You can check out my mix here http://www.mixcloud.com/beatsofmusic/gary-small-straight-from-the-play-box/ and while you’re there, why not check out some of the mixes from the other selectors.

So on to today’s song choice. Sometimes having a lot of records to choose from can make the choice more difficult than if you just have a limited selection. In addition it can be hard to find out interesting information about the more obscure records. The track I bring you today is one such occasion – so I just have to hope that the quality of the song speaks for itself! What I do know about it is that it was produced by the legendary Richard “Popcorn” Wylie and the band themselves have played on a number of hits by legendary artists such as Marvin Gaye & Edwin Starr! So get down and get off the streets y’all!!

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on February 10, 2014, in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment