The JB’s – Gimme Some More

The JB's - Gimme Some More

Tomorrow night I’ll be going to see one of my favourite groups (and a band that really struck a chord with me when I was very young) – Public Enemy. They’re playing a 300/400 capacity venue in Belfast and I imagine it’ll be a fantastic gig in such an intimate setting. I did see them before – almost 10 years ago, also in Belfast so it will be interesting to see how they compare from then.

I therefore decided this week’s song choice would tie-in with their show but given that they have sampled so many tracks over the years, the challenge was deciding which one to pick. Funky Drummer by James Brown was just a little too obvious but it felt only right that I select something from J.B.’s stable especially considering his influence on the band (not to mention how often they sampled his tracks!).

The song I plumped for then was Gimme Some More. I remember hearing this in the late 90s when I was just starting to collect funk records and I loved the groove that it had. It’s not the heavy, frenetic sound that you associate with other JB’s compositions but it has a constant groove that remains timeless. You can tell that this was a band at the absolute peak of their powers (which I’m sure they had to be to avoid a fine from James Brown!!!) 

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on August 4, 2014, in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Chairs bra,
    Matt

    Like

Leave a comment