Phil Flowers – I Saw Her Standing There

Phil Flowers - I Saw Her Standing There

The record I bring you today comes courtesy of an artist that I featured way back at the very beginning of Gazfunk (5 years ago – wow!) – Mr Phil Flowers. You may remember the song I selected then, a rousing cover of Bob Dylans’ “Like A Rolling Stone”. Well,today’s pick is yet another cover, this time it’s his take on The Beatles classic “I Saw Her Standing There”.

Those Beatles fans among you will doubtless be aware that it was the anniversary of George Harrison’s passing last week, so I figured this track would be a fitting tribute to the man. I’m sure you’ll dig it!

This week also brings the last of my Soul Party radio show for the year as I’m taking a well-earned break over Christmas. With that in mind, it will be something of a yuletide special with Christmas themed songs by a variety of artists including James Brown, The Jive Turkeys, Binky Griptite and Clarence Carter. I hope you can join me (don’t worry, it’ll be a Mariah free zone!) 

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on December 7, 2015, in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment