Little Caesar & The Empire – Everybody Dance Now

Little Caesar & The Empire - Everybody Dance Now

A bit of a shorter post this week as I’m bringing you (yet again!) another record that I know nothing about. This one has been something of a recent addition to the collection and as I try to do with all of my records, I like to find out more of a back story about the label, song or artist. However, Google hasn’t been any help to me either in trying to find out info about this release.

I do know that this is a cover version of a track released on the same Cameo Parkway label by an outfit called “Soul City” in 1966. This version came a year later and I suppose you could say it has a bit of a Northern Soul vibe about it, though I would contest that it’s arguably more of an early funk record with that fantastic drum-led intro.

It’s probably best if I just let the record do the talking and you can judge for yourself – but either way it’s a storming uptempo single just made to dance to. Enjoy!! 

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on February 15, 2016, in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment