Obrey Wilson – Headman

Obrey Wilson - Headman

Hello soul fiends! (yes that isn’t a spelling mistake, though if you’d like to consider me a friend, I’m happy with that). It’s been a beautiful day here in Belfast – the type that only comes around 4 or 5 times a year so I’ve been taking advantage by relaxing in the sunshine with some tunes and today’s selection is a record that I haven’t listened to in an age but surfaced again during the aforementioned “chillaxing” session.

So, Obrey Wilson then. Well guess what – yep, he is another one of those artists that I don’t know a lot about. I know that he released a dozen or so singles starting in 1961 finishing in the early 80s. I’ve herd some of these records and to be honest, the only one that’s really moved me that much is “Headman”. You often find with some artists that they cut 1 track that is pretty different from their normal output and today’s pick is exactly that.

Released in 1968 during the Golden Age (I’m not sure that there is such a thing but for reference it’s that period from ’67 – ’72 that I’m talking about where soul music just got that little bit funkier). There’s some great geetar work on this one and about 1min 30secs in a fantastic break for anyone out there looking a sample. The funny thing about this track is that initially I thought it was a female singer – you’ll get what I mean when you listen to it. Enjoy the tune and the rest of your week – I’m off to offer up some gifts to the sun god in the vain hope this great weather will stay with us! 

 

 

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on May 31, 2016, in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment