Explosions – Hip Drop

Explosions - Hip Drop

We’re returning to an absolute stone cold classic in the world of funk music today with the fantastic Hip Drop by the Explosions. Those of you who know about your New Orleans music will know just how big this record is, written and produced by probably the funkiest of all the musicians from The Crescent City, Mr Eddie Bo himself.

I don’t really know who exactly The Explosions were – obviously Bo is all over this one and the singing is led by Juanita Brooks who isn’t credited on the record but rather strangely is credited on another of the Explosions releases – “Garden Of Four Trees”. Why is that strange you might ask? Well, Brooks isn’t actually the singer on Garden Of Four Trees, that distinction goes to another New Orleans artist, Marilyn Barbarin (who you might know courtesy of the equally excellent “Reborn”). I wonder how she felt about being named on the record that she didn’t sing on but is missing from the one that she did – curious indeed..

Anyway, I’m sure you’ve probably heard this one before but it is worth returning to the classics every now and then, especially when it’s as dope as this!

Just before I go I want to let you know that if any of you happen to be in the Belfast area this week, I’ll be dj’ing in Voodoo covering for my buddy who is on holiday. I’ll be spinning the type of stuff you have come to expect from the blog. Things kick off at 9pm and it’s FREE ENTRY, so drop by and get your funk on one time. 

 

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on August 9, 2016, in Gazfunk DJ Appearances, Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment