Jessie Mae – Don’t Freeze On Me

Jessie Mae - Don't Freeze On Me

Much like last week, today’s chosen piece of wax falls into the type of category that I don’t often feature on Gazfunk – R&B. Now, it’s not that I’m not a fan of the genre (I do like it for what it’s worth) but I find that there are a lot of records out there that are too “samey” with very similar tempo and rhythm. Coupled with the rising cost of R&B records these days (due in no small part to the huge interest in recent years of the mod scene), this means my collection would be a bit light on the genre in comparison to soul, funk, hammond, latin etc.

The record I bring you today is definitely one of my favourites though and in my humble opinion is good as anything that I’ve heard that costs ten times the price. This is one of the staple tracks within the R&B/mod scene and may well be considered by some to be somewhat overplayed these days – I don’t mind though as it’s something a little different for me to share with you on the blog and variety is the spice of life, right? I’m sure you’ll all agree when you hit that little play button.

Just before I leave you this week, I have a little bit of news to share with you regarding some more upcoming gigs. I’ll be undertaking another U.S. Tour from late September through to early November with 5 or 6 shows lined up. I hope to be able to bring you a little tour poster next week with all the dates confirmed – and some of the events I’m really excited/honoured to be playing at! Watch this space…

About gazfunk

I'm a UK based dj/collector who loves all things funky. I also have a big interest in 60's garage, freakbeat, psychedelia and 60's pop. I have been dj'ing for 15 years and played sets in Belfast, Dublin, London, Manchester, Stockholm, Madrid, New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Saigon, Siem Reap, Melbourne & Sydney as well as performing at a number of music festivals.

Posted on August 30, 2016, in Gazfunk Song Selection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment